Totally confused

Homepage Forums Support PULL support Totally confused

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Julie
    Participant

I bought Lemur and Pull today but now am thinking it’s not working because I don’t have full Max, just Max for Live.

I installed Pull in Live and can see it and load Large Template, etc. But when I open Lemur all I see is a screen with the Lemur logo (and settings option in upper right corner).

I’m a newbie to MIDI, so basic stuff like ins, outs and OSC is foreign.

Can you confirm that I can use this software with Max for Live? If so, can someone advise on exactly how I need to set up the various components to talk to each other? Thanks so much.

xmonsta
    Keymaster

Hi Julie,

Yes, you don’t need full Max to use this, only Max for Live. They are the same install though (Max 6 or Max 7).

We do have a support email if this is easier – support[at]xmonsta[dot]com

To use Max for Live you just need to install full Max 6.1 or Max 7. Then you go into Ableton preferences>folder>Max Application – and set your Max folder there. You can still use Max for Live, even though Full Max is not licensed (the max for live bit is automatically licensed in ableton)

Install PULL (using the correct installer for your Max/OS versions)

Drag PULL V2.2.amxd into your set. Fill in the IP field with your iPad IP address. Use port 8004

Go into your Lemur settings. In the “OSC 0 host” section, put your computer IP address. In the port put 8004

Click the “large template” button on the AMXD – on your Lemur some buttons on the bottom should load and a blue rectangle can be seen on screen.

Start selecting devices. The templates should flash up on screen and you should have bi-directional feedback on the Lemur.